Biography

 

Caroline Côté is an adventure filmmaker and photographer residing in Montreal. Her main role during an expedition is to bring back images in order to present them to the public in a documentary format. One of the latest to be realized is the story of a team she was a member of that crossed an unexplored region of Antarctica for 30 days on its own.

 

She also recently participated in the Pull of the North Expedition, where she followed the Yukon River for over two months and traveled through Alaska to meet with Athabaskan people.

 

She has just returned from northern Quebec where she went to meet people from Kuujjuaq, a subject that is highlighted in a trailrunning documentary called Qamaniq currently on a world tour of festivals.

 

Filming in natural places, far away or in extreme conditions is her passion and her specialty. You can meet her on the Atlantic coast or at the top of Mount Washington with her camera or in the forest, as she loves to run at altitude (65 km, 85 km or 125 km). She might say that being an adventure filmmaker is only a title that can be put on a resume, but according to her it means a lot more.

 

What inspires her to do this work is to share inspiring stories. Her mission is to engage people in learning more about the subject of nature conservation and surpassing oneself. She went through extensive training at the Banff Center, she also studied in advertising at UdeM and completed studies in the field of cinema and communication.

FILMMAKER. DIRECTOR. ADVENTURER.

EXPEDITIONS AND ACCOMPLISHMENTS

2014 - XP Antarctik: 30 days of exploration of the Antarctic Peninsula and the Plateau with 5 other Quebecers in order to create the documentary Le Plateau, and to carry out research led by Andrée-Anne Parent UQAM in relation to the reactions of the human body subject to hostile environment and extreme conditions. The expedition was supported by the Canadian Space Agency. Out and back in a sailing boat passing through Cape Horn for more than 10 days in total.

2015 - Oceanic crossing between St-Malo, France and Quebec with the crew of the sailboat Atlas Océan Racing in 21 days and the recognized skipper George Leblanc.

2016 - Pull of the North Expedition, 2000km of canoeing on the Yukon River from its source to the Bering Sea, passing through the towns and villages along this waterway in order to collect testimonies from the inhabitants of the community of Athabaskan people and learn more about a way of life directly related to the environment. 2 months paddling accompanied by 3 other team members.

2017 - Qamaniq Project, taking women to go beyond their limits in a context that takes them completely out of their comfort zone, in Kuururjuaq Park with the aim of creating a documentary on this walking and running adventure and to bridge the gap between the relationship maintained between the Inuit and the population of southern Quebec.

2018 - 2000 km crossing between the towns of Natashquan in Montreal by ski, on foot and by bike in order to take visuals for the Electron campaign put forward by the advertising agency LG2.

2019 - Sea to Ice Expedition: retracing the footsteps of Wally Herbert, trying a new access to the Plateau of the Antarctic Peninsula accompanied by an international team of 6 people. 30 days on the mainland

2020 - From Montreal to Banff (Trans Canada) in 30 days by fixed gear bike.

2020 - Norwegian Fjords Sea Kayak Adventure: Steigen to Tromsø in 11 Days.

2021 - (To come) Svalbard Project: 60 days on skis in the polar night with winter conditions.

TRAIL RUNNING RESULTS

Race

Les Traces Du Nord Basse-Terre 2019 

- Guadeloupe

Distance

Elevation

Date

Position

154km

6400m+

2020

2nd W

Grand Raid Des Pyrénées Tour des Cirques

- France

120km

7325m+

2019

1st W

Les Traces Du Nord Basse-Terre 2019 

- Guadeloupe

84.4km

2700m+

2019

1st W

Trail La Clinique Du Coureur

- Canada

50km

2000m+

2019

3rd W

The North Face Endurance Challenge

- États-Unis

81.1km

2400m+

2019

2nd W

Transmartinique

- Martinique

144.2km

4850m+

2018

3rd W

6500m+

Ultramaraton Guatemala

-Guatemala

2nd W

2018

93.3km

4175m+

Québec Mega Trail

- Canada

2nd W

2018

101.1km

Ultra-Trail Harricana

- Canada

62.1km 

1600m+

2017

4th W

2000m+

The North Face Endurance Challenge

- États-Unis

3rd W

2017

80.4km

1600m+

Ultra-Trail Harricana
- Canada

5th W

2016

62.4km

Ultra-Trail Harricana

- Canada

129.1km

3200m+

2015

Finisher

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Vimeo Icon
  • White YouTube Icon
  • White Instagram Icon

Biographie

 

Caroline Côté est une cinéaste d'aventure et athlète de longue distance. Son rôle principal lors des expéditions est de ramener des images dans le but de les présenter au public dans un format documentaire. L'une des dernières à avoir été réalisée est l'histoire d'une équipe dans laquelle elle était membre et qui a traversé une région inexplorée de l'Antarctique pendant 30 jours en autonomie complète.

 

Elle a également participé récemment à l'expédition Pull of the North, où elle a suivi le fleuve Yukon pendant plus de deux mois et a voyagé à travers l'Alaska pour rencontrer les Premières nations de la région en canot.

 

Elle vient de rentrer du nord du Québec, plus précisément du Parc Kuururjuaq, endroit qu'elle a visité afin de créer le documentaire de trailrunning appelé Qamaniq présentement en tournée mondiale de festivals.

 

Filmer dans des lieux naturels, loin et avec des particularité environnementales complexes, c'est sa passion et sa spécialité. Vous pouvez la rencontrer sur la côte Atlantique ou au sommet du mont Washington avec son appareil photo ou dans la forêt, car elle adore courir en altitude (65 km, 85 km ou 125 km). Elle pourrait dire qu'être un cinéaste d'aventure est seulement un titre qui peut être mis sur un CV, mais selon elle, il représente beaucoup plus.

 

Ce qui l'inspire à faire ce travail est de partager des histoires inspirantes. Elle a pour mission d'engager les gens à en apprendre davantage sur le sujet de la conservation de la nature et sur le dépassement de soi. Elle a suivi une formation complète au Banff Center, en Alberta, afin de perfectionner sa technique, capturer les faits saillants et de les partager de façon puissante. Elle a également suivi une formation en publicité à l'UdeM et a complété des études dans le domaine du cinéma et de la communication.

CINÉASTE. RÉALISATRICE. AVENTURIÈRE.

2014 - XP Antarctik, 30 jours d’exploration de la Péninsule Antarctique et du Plateau avec 5 autres québécois dans le but de créer le documentaire Le Plateau, et d’effectuer des recherches menées par Andrée-Anne Parent UQAM par rapport aux réactions du corps humain soumis à un environnement hostile et conditions extrêmes. Expédition soutenue par l’Agence Spatiale Canadienne. Allée et retour en bateau à voile passant par le Cap Horn durant plus de 10 jours au total. 

 

2015 - Traversée océanique entre St-Malo, France et Québec avec l’équipage du voilier Atlas Océan Racing en 21 jours et le skipper reconnu George Leblanc.

 

2016 - Expédition Pull of the North, 2000km de canot sur la rivière Yukon de sa source jusqu’à la mer de Béring en passant par les villes et villages bordant ce chemin d’eau dans le but de recueillir des témoignages des habitants de la communauté Athabaskan et d’en apprendre davantage sur un mode de vie relié directement à l’environnement. 2 mois à pagayer accompagnée de 3 autres membres équipiers. 

 

2017 - Projet Qamaniq, emmener des femmes à dépasser leurs limites dans un contexte qui les sortent totalement de leur zone de confort, dans le parc Kuururjuaq dans le but créer un documentaire sur cette aventure de marche et course et de faire le pont entre le rapport entretenue entre Inuits et population du sud du Québec. 

 

2018 - Expédition Électron, traversée de 2000 km entre les villes de Natashquan à Montréal en ski, à pied et vélo dans le but de prendre du visuel pour la campagne Electron mise de l’avant par l’agence de publicité LG2 et la compagnie Hydro Québec. 

 

2019 - Sea & Ice, Expédition retraçant les pas de Wally Herbert, en essayant un nouvel accès au Plateau de la Péninsule Antarctique accompagnée d’un équipe internationale de 6 personnes. 30 jours sur le continent

2020 - De Montréal à Banff en 30 jours en vélo fixed gear.

2020 - Aventure en kayak de mer dans les fjords de Norvège, Steigen à Tromsø en 11 jours.

2021 - Projet Svalbard, Le 1 février 2020, en compagnie de l’explorateur polaire de renom Vincent Colliard.

Pendant 2 mois, ils devront faire preuve de patience et d’audace afin d’arriver au bout du trajet qu’ils ont tracé sur les cartes. Sera-t-il vraiment possible d’aller jusqu’au bout de celui-ci dans la noirceur de la nuit polaire? 

RÉSULTATS TRAIL RUNNING

Course

Les Traces Du Nord Basse-Terre 2019 

- Guadeloupe

Distance

Dénivelé

Date

Position

154km

6400m+

2020

2eme F

Grand Raid Des Pyrénées Tour des Cirques

- France

120km

7325m+

2019

1ere F

Les Traces Du Nord Basse-Terre 2019 

- Guadeloupe

84.4km

2700m+

2019

1ere F

Trail La Clinique Du Coureur

- Canada

50km

2000m+

2019

3eme F

The North Face Endurance Challenge

- États-Unis

81.1km

2400m+

2019

2eme F

Transmartinique

- Martinique

144.2km

4850m+

2018

3eme F

6500m+

Ultramaraton Guatemala

-Guatemala

2eme F

2018

93.3km

4175m+

Québec Mega Trail

- Canada

2eme F

2018

101.1km

Ultra-Trail Harricana

- Canada

62.1km 

1600m+

2017

4eme F

2000m+

The North Face Endurance Challenge

- États-Unis

3eme F

2017

80.4km

1600m+

Ultra-Trail Harricana
- Canada

5eme F

2016

62.4km

Ultra-Trail Harricana

- Canada

129.1km

3200m+

2015

Finisher

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Vimeo Icon
  • White YouTube Icon
  • White Instagram Icon