Conference

My road was traced and my course defined, leading to a profession in the heart of the city of Montreal in the next few years. Having studied urban planning at the age of 20, I saw my future in a tidy and conventional way.  

It was in 2014 that I made the decision to explore a little-known region of Antarctica, this experience was a decisive moment in my career. Crossing certain polar zones on skis and sleeping in my little tent on the snow for more than 1 or 2 months instead of sleeping in my bed made me wonder about the discomfort.

 

The many journeys made so far have led me to see that it is possible to live to the rhythm of the winters and to discover a certain resilience in oneself and comfort in hostile environments. My mission is to engage people to learn more about nature conservation, surpassing oneself and the simplicity of living differently.

Both during an exploration in the far north and in everyday life, getting out of your comfort zone and surpassing yourself allows you to learn a lot about yourself.  

THEMATIC 2022:
THE POWER OF DISCOMFORT

Very often, we postpone and we don't dare to move, because fear, always present, prevents us from doing so. Confronting it and jumping into the void to live my dreams is the best feeling I've had in my life, and I still feel it every time when developing a project.

“I hold on well and I rush forward,
always stronger than the day before
thanks to the hardships I have overcome so far.
 
We give everything.
We are cold and sometimes very hungry, we become dehydrated,
we put ourselves to the test every day,
we are rarely safe from a downpour,
our layers of merino wool clothes get wet,
we shiver and we dream of being near a crackling fire.
I chose to launch myself and invest everything in my profession,
to tell the stories of my encounters over the kilometers travelled.”

 

Trusting our intuition is what helps us. We are all the leaders of tomorrow and thinking outside the box means reforging the future, rethinking a new way of life.

Conférence​

Ma route était tracée et mon parcours défini, menant à une profession dans le cœur de la ville de Montréal dans les prochaines années. Ayant réalisé des études en urbanisme à l’âge de 20 ans, j’entrevoyais mon futur d’une manière bien rangée et conventionnelle. 

C'est en 2014 que je prends la décision d’aller explorer une région peu connue de l’Antarctique, cette expérience est un moment décisif dans ma carrière. Traverser en ski certaines zones polaires et dormir dans ma petite tente sur la neige pendant plus de 1 ou 2 mois au lieu de trouver le sommeil dans mon lit m'ont permis de me questionner au sujet de l’inconfort.

 

Les multiples périples effectués jusqu'à maintenant m’ont amenée à constater qu’il est possible de vivre au rythme des hivers et à découvrir une certaine résilience en soi et le confort dans les milieux hostiles. J'ai pour mission d'engager les gens à en apprendre davantage sur la conservation de la nature, le dépassement de soi et la simplicité de vivre autrement.

Aussi bien lors d'une exploration dans le grand nord que dans la vie de tous les jours, sortir de sa zone de confort et se surpasser permet d'en apprendre beaucoup sur soi-même. 

THÉMATIQUE 2022:
LA PUISSANCE DE L'INCONFORT

Très souvent, on reporte et on n'ose pas bouger, car la peur, toujours présente, nous en empêche. Le confronter et sauter dans le vide pour vivre mes rêves est le meilleur sentiment que j'ai eu dans ma vie, et je le ressens toujours à chaque fois lors du développement d'un projet.

« Je m'accroche bien et je fonce en avant,
toujours plus fort que la veille
grâce aux épreuves que j'ai surmontées jusqu'à présent.
 
Nous donnons tout.
On a froid et parfois très faim, on se déshydrate,
on se met à l'épreuve tous les jours,
on est rarement à l'abri d'une averse,
nos couches de vêtements en laine mérinos se mouillent,
on frissonne et on rêve d'être près d'un feu crépitant.
J'ai choisi de me lancer et de tout investir dans mon métier,
de raconter les histoires de mes rencontres au fil des kilomètres parcourus.»

 

Faire confiance à notre intuition est ce qui nous aide. Nous sommes tous les leaders de demain et sortir des sentiers battus, c'est reforger l'avenir, repenser un nouveau mode de vie.